kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Cookies and a Princess Jasmine Cake

Pumpkin Cheesecake Cookies

Pumpkin Cheesecake Cookies

Back when I was dating my husband, I told some of my co-workers that he loves pumpkin pie. One of my co-workers brought me in a recipe she cut out of a magazine for Pumpkin Cheesecake Cookies. I have no idea what magazine she got this from, but it is a great recipe. I’ve made these cookies a few times over the years and they always turn out well.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Cookies

1 (8 oz) brick cream cheese, soft
1/2 cup butter, soft
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup pumpkin
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1 cup cake flour (or 1 cup of all purpose flour and 2 tbsp cornstarch)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, beat cream cheese and butter together until smooth and creamy. Beat in sugar, pumpkin, vanilla extract and egg.

In another bowl, combine flours, baking powder, salt, and pumpkin pie spice.

Mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients. Place dough in refrigerator for 20 minutes.

On a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper place large scoops of dough. An ice cream scooper would be ideal, but you can use two spoons to place heaping spoonfuls down.

Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool for 2-3 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. Let cool before eating.

There is a maple glaze for this cookie recipe, but I have never actually made the glaze. I’ll include the glaze recipe for anyone who wants to try it, but the cookies are good without it.

Maple Cream Cheese Glaze

4 oz cream cheese, soft
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3 tbs real maple syrup
3-4 tbsp milk

Beat cream cheese until smooth then add powdered sugar, vanilla, maple syrup and milk. Add milk until you get desired consistency for glaze. Drizzle on top of pumpkin cheesecake cookies.

Cookies cooling on the cookie sheet for a few minutes.

Cookies cooling on the cookie sheet for a few minutes.

Putting cookies on plates to cool since I didn't want to dig out my wire racks.

Putting cookies on plates to cool since I didn’t want to dig out my wire racks.

Princess Jasmine Cake

My beautiful daughter with her Jasmine cake.

My beautiful daughter with her Jasmine cake.

My daughter loves princesses right now, and her favorite is Princess Jasmine from Aladdin. She absolutely adores Jasmine. She is even going to be Jasmine for Halloween this year. We’ve had the costume for a few months now.

Kayla has seen all of the Disney princess movies and read various princess books, and Jasmine remains her favorite. Since we’ll be celebrating Kayla’s 3rd birthday at Disney World, I inquired about Jasmine cakes. Apparently, Princess Jasmine cakes are not one of their standard cakes. Not even at Cinderella’s Royal Table, where they make various princess cakes.

Instead of trying to convince a pastry chef at Disney World to make a special cake for my daughter, that would probably cost a small fortune, I decided to make my own mini Princess Jasmine cake. I ordered a cake mold pan and decided to use one of Kayla’s Jasmine figurines for the center of the cake.

At first, I had grand ideas of how I would decorate it. In the end, it was a simply decorated cake because I was short on time and my daughter was getting restless waiting for me to get done in the kitchen.

Kayla helped me make the batter for a basic chocolate cake and bake it in the oven. Once the cake was cool, I sent her out of the kitchen to go play. I quickly decorated the cake using one of her Jasmine figurines, buttercream frosting that I tinted sky blue, and blue edible sparkles/glitter.

Kayla taking a closer look at the cake batter.

Kayla taking a closer look at the cake batter.

Kayla tasting the cake batter.

Kayla tasting the cake batter.

Batter going into cake molds.

Batter going into cake molds.

Putting frosting on the back of the Jasmine cake.

Putting frosting on the back of the Jasmine cake.

Frosting the front of the cake.

Frosting the front of the cake.

Finished cake.  I didn't get to add the details that I wanted to do, but my daughter still loved it.

Finished cake. I didn’t get to add the details that I wanted to do, but my daughter still loved it.

When I showed the finished cake to Kayla, she was surprised and happy. She thought it was pretty, even without all the details I didn’t get to do. All she cared about was that it was her favorite princess, and that the cake sparkled. Kayla had fun licking the sparkles off the cake. She couldn’t wait to tell grandma that mommy made her a Jasmine cake (for her birthday…a month early). She spent a few days looking at it and eating it slowly. She wanted to show her friends her special cake. I was happy that she was happy. That’s really all that mattered to me. 🙂

Seeing the Jasmine cake for the first time.  She was surprised.

Seeing the Jasmine cake for the first time. She was surprised.

Kayla likes to wear her hair like Jasmine.  Even the hair bands match the cake.

Kayla likes to wear her hair like Jasmine. Even the hair bands match the cake.

In awe of her cake.  And she knew right away that was her figurine.

In awe of her cake. And she knew right away that was her figurine.

Touching the sparkles.  She loved eating the sparkles and frosting off the cake.

Touching the sparkles. She loved eating the sparkles and frosting off the cake.

My happy girl.

My happy girl.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Disney Princess Birthday Party Ideas – I love Pink

    Leave a Reply

