kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

A hot breakfast to start the day – Homemade Coco Wheats

0304131322-00When I was little, I wasn’t into the sugary cereals. My mom rarely bought them, and when I convinced her to buy me just one box, I usually didn’t like it. It just didn’t appeal to me. By the time I was in junior high, I was eating cereals like Basic Four, which was odd for a kid my age.

In my house, we ate a lot of hot breakfasts. My mom would make scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and biscuits. I loved omelettes, and thought it was a treat when she’d make skillet potatoes. Yum! One of my favorite breakfast treats was Coco Wheats. Not everyone appreciates a nice warm bowl of this chocolate treat, but it’s something I have fond memories of as a kid. I still indulge in the occasional bowl, but not very often.

If you don’t want to buy a box of Coco Wheats, you can always make your own. It’s very simple.

Coco Wheats Recipes

2 cups water
2 – 2 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon almond extract
1/3 – 1/2 cup farina/cream of wheat
1 pinch of salt
1 tablespoon milk
1 tablespoon sugar or brown sugar
1/2 tablespoon butter (optional)

1. Whisk the cocoa powder into the water in a pot.

2. Heat the water over medium heat until boiling. Add in cinnamon, vanilla extract, almond extract, and salt. Whisk together.

3. Add in farina/cream of wheat slowly and stir constantly for 2-3 minutes. This will prevent lumps. (Add in farina/cream of wheat to your desired thickness.)

4. Turn off heat and cover with lid. Let sit a few minutes.

5. Uncover. Stir in milk, sugar, and butter. I like to add just a little milk at the end to make it creamy.

This is a nice homemade morning treat. Some kids that don’t like the boxed version prefer this homemade version. If you don’t like using sugar or brown sugar, you can use honey to sweeten it up a bit. And you can always skip the butter all together. My mom always made ours with milk, sugar, and butter…so that’s how I always eat mine. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do.

food and snow 001

5 Comments

  1. I have to say that this recipe is absolutely awesome. It tastes better than the box version. My kids scarfed it down and they are hard to please. Thanks for posting the recipe. It was awesome.

  2. I will try this! Thank you.
    My kids (& me) love cocoa wheats but I recently read the ingredients…artificial flavoring. Booooo

    • I hope you enjoy it. It’s pretty easy to make, and we like it better than the box version now.

  3. Laura

    Awesome recipe! I tweek byy adding probably a good 1/3 cup cocoa powder, and more sugar we love it extra chocolaty and sweet! My husband grew up eating the box stuff but now won’t touch it. Love’s this recipe though make it at least twice a week. 🙂

    • Oh, great! It’s one of our go-to breakfast meals. Now that my daughter is older, she likes it with more cocoa powder and sugar too, so I’ve had to adjust the recipe some too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

