kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

I saw this recipe the other week on the Food Network website, and I knew I had to try it.  My husband loves pumpkin pie and chocolate chip cookies.  This recipe combines two of his favorite desserts.  When I saw that I pretty much already had everything I needed for the recipe, I was sold.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s basically like making chocolate chip cookies…with just a few extra ingredients.  The original recipe called for cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves.  I was being lazy so I decided to substitute those individual ingredients for pumpkin pie spice.  It’s pretty much the same thing since all of those ingredients are in pumpkin pie spice.  Instead of having to pull out four spice bottles, I was able to just pull out one.  Sorry, I’m a mom of a very busy little toddler, so I am all about making life easier.  If I can consolidate, I will.

This recipe is super easy and pretty much anyone with basic cooking skills, a cookie sheet, an oven, and a mixer can make these cookies.  My husband said these cookies taste like Fall.  They make him want to go out trick or treating.  🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 cups (12-ounce bag) milk chocolate chips, not semisweet
  • Nonstick cooking spray or parchment paper

If you don’t have pumpkin pie spice, this is what the original recipe said to use:

  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

Ingredients for cookies. The eggs and light brown sugar are not in the picture…sorry.

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray cookie sheets with nonstick spray or line them with parchment paper.  I prefer to use parchment/wax paper.  The cookies are easy to remove and you have less mess to clean up once you’re done.

Using a mixer, beat the butter in a large bowl until smooth.  Beat in the white sugar and brown sugar, a little at a time, until the mixture is light and fluffy.  Beat in the eggs one at a time.  Then mix in the vanilla extract and pumpkin puree.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice.  Slowly beat the flour mixture into the batter in thirds.  Stir in the chocolate chips and make sure they are completely mixed in.

Cookie batter. If you’re not afraid of eating raw cookie batter, this one is awesome. I’ve always been a sucker for cookie batter.

Scoop the cookie dough by heaping tablespoons (or by using an ice cream scoop) onto the prepared cookie sheets and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until the cookies are browned around the edges.  Remove the cookie sheets from the oven and let them rest for 2 minutes.  Take the cookies off with a spatula and cool them on wire racks.  If you don’t have wire racks, just cool them on plates.  I have wire racks and I rarely use them.  Your cookies will still turn out fine.

Cookies before they went into the oven to be baked.

Cookies in the oven baking. Wow, did they smell good!

Right out of the oven.

I baked the cookies for 20 minutes and they came out perfect.  They are cake like in texture.  They are moist and soft on the inside.  My husband ate about a third of the cookies the night I made them, and my daugther couldn’t get enough.  Fall came early in our house.  I’ll definitely be making these again around Halloween and Thanksgiving.

Cookies once they were all done. A few of them were already being munched on when I took this picture. The recipe makes about 3 1/2 dozen cookies total. I only made 3 dozen and saved the remaining cookie dough.

Kayla wasn’t happy when I told her that was going to be her last cookie for the night. She got over it pretty quick though.

Kayla enjoying her cookie…while holding her favorite monkey doll. She is crazy about monkeys.

She was so happy to help mommy in the kitchen. She’s such a good little helper. Well…sometimes. 🙂

I love her laugh. Such a happy girl. That’s my Kayla Kakes.

Adapted from the recipe on the Food Network website:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/george-duran/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-cookies-recipe/index.html

2 Comments

  1. esqstyleblog

    I don’t like pumpkin, but even I can see the color was good and it looks delicious! I wonder if sweet potato pie could be turned into a cookie?

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies « Early Childhood Homeschooling Made Easy

Leave a Reply

