kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Creamy Pesto Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Bits

I needed to whip up a quick dinner last night and I had fresh spinach in the fridge.  I tossed around a few ideas, then settled on making pasta.  I had everything I needed to make a creamy pesto pasta.  My daughter, Kayla, loves pasta…well, I think she has a thing for carbs in general…so I figured this would be a good choice for dinner.

I started out by making some penne pasta per the package instructions.  Basically, I boiled some salted water, added half a box of penne pasta, cooked for 8-9 minutes, then drained the water.  Once the pasta was cooked, I mixed in 1/2 cup of pesto and 4 ounces of softened cream cheese.  I continued to stir for a few minutes until the cream cheese started to melt.  I added a cup of fresh chopped spinach and 1/2 cup of hickory smoked bacon bits.  Then I added a tsp of pepper and 1/3 tsp of salt for flavor.  I made sure to stir well so that all the ingredients were properly incorporated.  I let this cook for about 8 minutes, making sure the spinach was wilted down and the cream cheese was completely melted.

Even though this is a creamy pesto pasta, it isn’t too heavy.  This pasta dish is super easy and fast to make.  If you want it to have a little more substance, you can always add chicken to this dish and it will take it to the next level.  We had a fresh fruit salad on the side with strawberries, bananas, and rainer cherries.  Not bad for a quick Monday night meal.

Leave a Reply

