kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Two meals, One Pork Roast : BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches & BBQ Spaghetti with Pulled Pork

It’s been a few weeks since I did a blog post.  It’s funny how fast time flies by when you have a kid (or kids).  I sometimes feel like I blink and a week goes by.  I’ve made lots of different meals over the last few weeks, but I haven’t had any time to write up a nice little post about them.  I’m hoping that I can get back on track now because I missed writing my blog.  It’s nice to be able to share my love for food with other people.

With that said, let’s get down to business.  This weekend is all about BBQ Pulled Pork.  I made two meals with the BBQ pulled pork I made yesterday.  First, I made BBQ pulled pork sandwiches for dinner on Friday night.  Then, I made BBQ spaghetti with pulled pork for dinner on Saturday night.  I originally got the idea for making BBQ spaghetti a few years ago when I was watching the Neely’s on The Food Network.  I loved the idea.  I made it once when I was pregnant with Kayla, and I can not tell you how much I loved it.  What a great way to transform spaghetti noodles and make a meal that is perfect for a summer BBQ.  I like to use pulled pork for my BBQ spaghetti, but you can use pulled chicken, pulled turkey, shredded beef, or BBQ meatballs.  It’ll taste great no matter what type of meat you decide to use.

My recipe for BBQ pulled pork is simple.  I don’t do a lot of fancy stuff to it.  I season the pork, put it in a crockpot/slow cooker, add a little water, and pour in a container of BBQ sauce.  It’s that easy.  In the end, you’ll have super tender pulled pork.

BBQ Pulled Pork Recipe

– 2-4 lbs Boneless Pork Shoulder, excessive fat trimmed off

– 1 bottle Sweet Baby Ray’s Original BBQ Sauce or The Neely’s BBQ Sauce (or you can make your own BBQ sauce from scratch)

– 1 cup of Water

– 1-2 tablespoons Salt

– 1-2 tablespoons Pepper

– 1 tablespoon Paprika

– 1 teaspoon Dry Ground Mustard

– Hamburger Buns or Rolls

-Shredded Cheddar Cheese, optional

Trim off any excess fat from the boneless pork shoulder roast.  Season the outside of the roast with salt, pepper, paprika, and dry mustard.  Rub the seasoning into the roast with your hands.  I sometimes add a little bit of garlic powder and/or cayenne pepper too.  It depends on my mood and the flavor I’m going for that day.

Spray the inside of your slow cooker with some cooking spray.  The roast probably won’t stick, but I prefer to use some cooking spray to make sure.  Pour two tablespoons of the BBQ sauce into the slow cooker and spread over the bottom.  Pour 1 cup of water into the slow cooker, then add the pork roast.  Pour the rest of the BBQ sauce over the roast, making sure to completely cover it.  Sometimes, I have massaged some of the BBQ sauce into the pork roast, but it really isn’t necessary.  It seems to come out the same either way.

Cook the roast on high for 5-6 hours, or on low for 7-8 hours.  You will know when it’s done when you can easily pull it apart with a fork.  It should be so tender that it’ll fall apart if you try to lift the roast out of the slow cooker.  Once it’s fork tender.  I start to pull it apart with a fork and let it continue to cook for awhile longer so it can absorb all the great BBQ juice.

You can use a nice kaiser roll for your sandwich, a hamburger bun, or some other type of roll.  It’s really whatever you prefer.  I typically use a kaiser roll because they don’t fall apart as easy, but this time I used Honey Hamburger Buns.

Since I love cheese, I always put about a tablespoon of shredded cheddar cheese on the bottom half of my bun/roll.  Then I put a generous helping of the pulled pork on top of the shredded cheese.  The pulled pork that came right out of the slow cooker will melt the cheese.  The cheese will be nice and gooey.   Then I spoon a little bit of the BBQ juice from the slow cooker on top of the pork.  This sandwich is delicious!  It will be a little messy to eat, but that’s what makes it so good.  You can also add a little bit of cole slaw to the sandwich if you like a more traditional pulled pork sandwich.

Reserve about 1/4th of the BBQ pulled pork to make the BBQ spaghetti.  You can use more, if you like, but I like to keep the spaghetti light on meat.

BBQ Spaghetti with Pulled Pork Recipe

– 1 box Spaghetti Noodles, cooked per package instructions

– 1 bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s Original BBQ Sauce or The Neely’s BBQ Sauce

– 1 small Green Bell Pepper, chopped

– 1/4 cup Onion, chopped

– 1/2 cup – 1 cup Pulled Pork, Pulled Chicken, Pulled Turkey, Shredded Beef, or BBQ meatballs

Cook spaghetti noodles per package instructions, cooking the noodles in boiling salted water for about 8 minutes.  Sautee the bell pepper and onion in a pan with a little bit of oil or butter.  If you don’t want to use another pan, simply add the bell pepper and the onion to the boiling water while cooking the spaghetti noodles.  They will cook with the noodles and become tender.  This is a short cut I use sometimes, but probably not the way a chef would recommend.  🙂

Drain the water from the spaghetti noodles.  Pour the bottle of BBQ sauce into the pot with the spaghetti noodles and cook on low heat, stirring the noodles into the sauce.  If you cooked the bell peppers and onions separately, add them to the pot and stir in.  Stir in the pulled pork (or meat of your choice).  Let simmer for 5-10 minutes, stirring frequently, then remove from heat.  This is an easy and fun spaghetti recipe that is perfect for your backyard barbeques and summer picnics.

My daughter, Kayla, loves having this for dinner.  This is a great way to introduce kids to BBQ if they haven’t really had it before.

If you’re someone who prefers to make your own BBQ sauce, here is a recipe for a sweet BBQ sauce.  It’s my take on the Neely’s BBQ sauce recipe.

BBQ Sauce Recipe

– 2 cups Ketchup

– 1 cup Water

– 1/2 cup Apple Cider Vinegar

– 6 tablespoons Light Brown Sugar

– 3-4 tablespoons Sugar

– 1/2 tablespoon Pepper

– 1/2 tablespoon Onion Powder

– 1/2 tablespoon Ground Mustard

– 1 tablespoon Lemon Juice

– 1 tablespoon Worchestershire Sauce

– 1/2 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper, optional

– 1/2 teaspoon Paprika, optional

In a sauce pan, combine all ingredients over medium heat.  Bring mixture to a boil, then reduce heat to low.  Let simmer uncovered for 1 hour and 15 minutes.  Be sure to stir frequently.

Side note:  This sauce is sweet, so if you like a little bit more kick to it, add the cayenne pepper and paprika.

2 Comments

  1. Including this blog post, Kayla Kakes just reached 100 likes. So thank you to everyone who liked this post…and any of the other posts I’ve done in the past. I really appreciate it.

  2. Very nice …. I have yet to try pulled pork. I must give it a go!

Leave a Reply

