kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Mango Banana Cucumber Mint Smoothie – for Vitamix blender or any blender

Last weekend I bought some fresh mint and wanted to try putting it in a smoothie.  I didn’t feel like researching different smoothies using mint, so I took a chance and threw some ingredients into the blender.  Luckily, it turned out quite wonderful.  I loved the addition of mint to the smoothie.  It made it so fresh and different than a typical smoothie.

Mango Banana Mint Smoothie Recipe

– 1 cup Milk

– 1/2 cup Vanilla Yogurt

– 1 Mango, peeled and cut into chunks

– 2 Bananas, peeled and broken into pieces

– 1/2 cup of Cucumbers, peeled and sliced

– 1/4 cup Mint leaves, you can use less if this is too minty for you

– 1/2 cup Ice

As always, I kind of gear my recipes to using my Vitamix blender, but you can make this smoothie in any type of blender.  I put all ingredients into the blender in the order listed above and blended until completely smooth.  The length of blending time will depend on the type of blender you have, so you will want to watch for the consistancy you want.  In a Viitamix blender, turn the blender on variable 1 and quickly increase to variable 10, then to high.  Let blend for about 25-30 seconds.  The blending time may be longer in other blenders.

This smoothie is very minty and refreshing.  I am a big fan of spearmint flavored stuff (gum, breath mints, tooth paste, etc), so this was right up my alley.  I think the mint went well with the fruit in this smoothie, and the milk and yogurt gave it a nice creamy texture.  I can definitely see myself drinking this smoothie outside in the summertime when the sun is going down for the day.  It reminds me of something a southern belle may drink while sitting on her grand wrap-around porch.  I bet a touch of alcohol to this drink would take it to the next level, but for the most part these days, my drinks tend to be alcohol free since I have a little one to take care of 24/7.  But it’s just an idea…    🙂

I hope you all enjoy the recipe.

 

1 Comment

  1. esqstyleblog

    I think my mom would really like this one. (She has a thing for cucumbers.)

Leave a Reply

