kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Chocolate Chip Chocolate Waffles with Fresh Strawberries

We bought a Gordan Ramsay waffle iron back in 2010 and never used it.  It’s been sitting in a box in the basement for over a year collecting dust.  When we bought it, I was very pregnant and not in the mood to cook breakfast for myself, or anyone else for that matter.  Then I had a newborn baby to take care of, so making fresh waffles was not on my list of priorities.  Now that Kayla is 16 months old and loves to eat, I decided it was time to bust out the waffle iron.  I’ve used it a few times now.  I wouldn’t say it’s the best waffle iron in the world, but it does the job and the waffles come out pretty good.

Last night, I kept thinking about what to make today.  I was in the mood for waffles, but I didn’t want regular waffles.  I wanted something with chocolate.  I tossed around some ideas and decided to make chocolate waffles with chocolate chips.  I have a bunch of strawberries, so I figured I could slice those up and serve them on top.

My daughter has little patience when it comes to waiting for food, so I opted to not make a batter from scratch.  I used a boxed Mrs. Butterworth’s pancake and waffle mix, then added my extra ingredients.  Obviously, you can alter this recipe to make the batter completely from scratch and I’m sure it would be awesome.  I took a short cut and Kayla still thought I was taking too long making breakfast, so I know I made the right call for myself.  But by all means, if you try this recipe and make it completely from scratch, let me know how it turns out.

Chocolate Chip Chocolate Waffles Recipe

– 2 cups Mrs. Butterworth’s Pancake and Waffle Mix

– 2 tablespoons Oil

– 1 1/2 cup Water

– 3 tablespoons Unsweetened Cocoa

– 2 tablespoons Sugar

– 1/3 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

– 2 tablespoons of melted Butter, to grease waffle iron

– 1/4 cup Strawberries, sliced

Turn waffle maker on to let it pre-heat.  In a medium size bowl, whisk the waffle mix, oil, and water together until smooth.  Add in the cocoa and sugar.  Stir and scrape the sides of the bowl to make sure it’s mixed well.  Add in the chocolate chips and stir.  Let the mixture sit for a few minutes to rest.

Waffle Batter

 

Once the waffle iron is ready, grease it with some melted butter.  I don’t recommend using cooking spray on most waffle irons.  Pour mixture into the waffle iron, being careful not to overfill.  Bake until it stops steaming.  I set my temperature on my waffle iron at about 4 or 5, because I don’t want my waffles to be too dark.

The waffles should be a little crispy on the outside, but nice and soft on the inside.  If you prefer them to be softer on the outside, you can adjust your cook time and temperature.

These were a nice morning treat.  Kayla was overly happy because she thought I was serving her cake for breakfast.  I think the fresh strawberries on top took them to the next level.  You an also add some powdered sugar, if you want.  I decided not to add any powdered sugar because I felt like this breakfast was sinful enough.  Top it off with whatever type of syrup you prefer.  These waffles will put a smile on your face.  It’s like having dessert for breakfast.

Chocolate chip chocolate waffles with fresh strawberries on top.

 

Kayla looking at a piece of a waffle.

 

Kayla eating breakfast and watching Curious George on TV.

 

If you have a great breakfast recipe, please feel free to share.  I love to try new things.

Leave a Reply

