kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Olive Cheese Bread

A few weeks ago, I was watching The Pioneer Woman on the Food Network.  I don’t typically watch her show, but I think she has a beautiful blog.  On this particular day, she was making Olive Cheese Bread.  It looked so yummy that I knew I had to make it.  I made a few minor changes to her recipe to suit my taste, but it still turned out great.

Olive Cheese Bread Recipe

– 1 loaf of Italian Bread, cut in half

– 1/3 cup Pimiento-stuffed Green Olives, sliced

– 1/3 cup Black Olives, sliced

– 1/2 stick Butter, melted (optional)

– 1/2 cup of Miracle Whip, or Mayo

1/2 cup shredded Mild Cheddar Cheese

1/3 cup grated Parmesan Cheese

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Cut Italian loaf in half, lengthwise, and set on a baking sheet.  If your olives aren’t pre-sliced, roughly chop them up and put them in a medium size bowl.  In the bowl, add the butter, Miracle Whip, cheddar cheese, and parmesan cheese.  Stir until thoroughly combined.  I’ve made this two ways, and both have come out great.  One time I made it with half a stick of butter, and it had that great buttery flavor we all love.  But I’ve also made it without the butter and I still think it tastes just as good.  It’s really a matter of preference.  I used Miracle Whip because I prefer that over mayo and we rarely have plain mayo in our house.  The original recipe uses mayo, so again, it’s a matter of preference.

Spread mixture on both halves of the Italian Bread.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until cheese is completely melted and browning.  Be careful not to burn the edges of the bread.  You can also cook this under the broiler, but then you have to be extra careful not to burn it.  If you choose to cook it under the broiler, it may take less time.  Be sure to keep your eye on it.

Olive and Cheese mixture

About to go into the oven.

Coming out of the oven.

This is a nice appetizer before dinner.  Just cut it up into two inch pieces and serve hot.  I was overly excited about trying this and ended up burning my tongue, so I recommend letting this cool for a few minutes before eating.  🙂

Store leftovers in an airtight container in the fridge.  It’s a yummy snack for the next day.  I just popped it in the microwave for about 30-45 seconds and it was still tasty.

If you want to check out the original recipe, it’s at http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/06/olive_cheese_br/

If you happen to live in or around the South Suburbs of Chicago, I highly recommend Marconi’s Italian Loaf for this recipe.  They have quality bread that you can find in some local stores, like Bizio’s Fresh Market in Olympia Fields, IL.  I actually went to high school with someone from the Marconi family, and I think it’s important to support local businesses.

1 Comment

  1. Oh my, this bread looks amazingly delicious. So cheesy!

Leave a Reply

