kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Banana Pudding Pie

My daughter, Kayla, not only enjoys eating  bananas, but she has a thing for monkeys.  Her favorite stuffed animal is a monkey with a rainbow mohawk.  I am completely serious.  She sleeps with this monkey every night and drags it around the house.  She has recently discovered Curious George through books and TV, so this has only increased her love of monkeys.  Ironically, I absolutely love bananas to the point where a former co-worker once told me I would turn into a monkey if I didn’t find another fruit to eat.  I would bring a banana smoothie or a strawberry banana smoothie to work for breakfast, and then eat a banana with my lunch.  If I had to live off of fruits, my top choices would definitely be strawberries and bananas, hands down.

I am a big fan of banana pudding.  I have a very simple recipe for banana pudding that I adore, but for some reason I am still craving pie right now.  So I altered my recipe a little bit to make a banana pudding pie.  If my husband’s opinion counts for anything, it turned out great.  He told me that he prefers my pie over traditional banana cream pies because it was light and it wasn’t too sweet.  He also loves bananas, but surprisingly usually isn’t a fan of banana cream pie.  Go figure.  I took it as a compliment when he said he really liked my take on this pie.  My husband can be a very odd eater at times (going weeks eating Taco Bell or cereal for dinner), so when he takes the time to eat what I make and tell me how much he likes it, I truly appreciate it.  For as long as I’ve known him, I have never been able to understand a grown man’s obsession with Taco Bell, or the fact that he enjoys eating cereal for dinner on a regular basis.  Oh well, that’s the man I married.  🙂

Banana Pudding Pie Recipe

– 1 (8 oz.) package of Cream Cheese

– 1/2 cup Powdered Sugar

– 1 (8 oz.) container of Whipped Topping

– 2 ripe Bananas, peeled and sliced thin

– 1 (4 serving) package of Vanilla Pudding Mix

– 1 1/2 cup Milk

– 1 Graham Cracker Pie Crust, Keebler ready made or you can make one from scratch

– 2 teaspoons Lemon Juice

In a large bowl, mix cream cheese and powdered sugar together until creamy.  Add in half the container of whipped topping and blend well.  Pour cream cheese mixture into the graham cracker pie crust, spread evenly.  Lately, I’ve been using ready made pie crusts to save on time since I have a 16 month old running around the house, but it’s easy to make your own crust from scratch.  One of these days I’ll get around to putting up my graham cracker crust recipe that I use, which is very simple.

Cream Cheese, powdered sugar, and whipped topping mixture.

Cream Cheese mixture in pie crust.

Next, thinnly slice two ripe bananas.  One banana will be used for inside the pie, and the other will be used to garnish.  On top of the cream cheese layer in the pie crust, arrange a single layer of banana slices.

Banana layer

In a medium to large bowl, whisk milk and vanilla pudding mix for about two minutes, until it is smooth.  Pour the pudding mixture on top of the banana layer in the pie.  Make sure it is evenly spread over the banana layer.

Milk and Pudding Mix after it's been whisked.

Pudding mixture added to pie crust.

Use the remaining whipped topping to cover the pie.  You don’t have to use all of it.  Just use enough to cover the top of the pie so you can’t see the pudding layer peeking through.  Finally, in a small bowl toss remaining banana slices with lemon juice.  Lemon juice will help the banana slices from browning.  Don’t worry, once the pie sets for awhile, the lemon flavor on the bananas will fade a little and it won’t distract from the taste of the pie.  Arrange the banana slices on top of the pie to garnish.  I put some in the middle of the pie, and the rest around the boarder of the pie.  Feel free to decorate/garnish the pie however you prefer.  It’s your creation.

Pie before it went into the fridge to set.

Cover and put pie in the fridge to set for 3-4 hours.  The first slice can be hard to cut, but after that it gets easier.  It’s a beautiful looking pie that makes it seem like you worked on it for a long time, but it’s so easy and quick to make it.  This is a great pie to let kids help you make to get them involved in the kitchen.

In the end, the pie turned out great, but my little monkey was disappointed I made a pie instead of a cake.  Kayla is a cake lover at heart.  Although she likes pie, her heart belongs to cake.  When I presented the finished pie to her, her response was “cake!”  I told her, “no, pie.”  She then kept telling me, “no, cake.”  Oh well, I guess I’ll make a cake next time to make her happy.  If you like bananas and/or banana pie, give this recipe a try.  It’s light and creamy, and hits the spot.

Banana Pudding Pie

2 Comments

  1. That looks delicious and that’s bad because it means I’ll be making it which always leads to eating it….

    • Thanks! It’s yummy and easy to make. Let me know if you try it.

Leave a Reply

