kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Mixed Fruit and Cucumber Yogurt Smoothie – Vitamix Recipe, or for any blender

A couple weeks ago, I bought a bulk bag of big cucumbers.  I love eating cucumbers in the spring and summer.  There’s something about them that just says “refreshing” to me.  I make cucumber salads, cucumber sandwiches, and now I’m making cucumber smoothies.

I’ve been trying to get my nephew to start drinking smoothies, so I had him help me load all the ingredients into my blender.  I cut up the cucumber and all my fruit and put them on a plate so he could easily put them into the blender for me.  He got a big kick out of helping out.

Mixed Fruit and Cucumber Yogurt Smoothie Recipe

– 1 cup Vanilla Soy Milk, or milk of choice

– 1/2 cup Vanilla Yogurt

– 1/2 cup Cucumbers, peeled and sliced

– 1 Banana, peeled and broken into pieces

– 1 Apple, cored and cut into chunks

– 1 Pear, cored and cut into chunks

– 1/2 cup Strawberries, whole frozen strawberries in place of ice

In a blender, we added all the ingredients in the order listed above.  I used frozen strawberries in place of ice.  If you don’t want to use frozen strawberries, you can add 1/2 cup of ice to the ingredients so the smoothie will be nice and cold.  Blend all ingredients together until it is completely smooth.  The amount of time may vary depending on the quality of your blender.  In a Vitamix blender, start on variable 1 and quickly increase the speed to variable 10, then high.  Let blend for about 25-30 seconds on high.

This smoothie comes out a pretty light red color and tastes delicious.  It was a great way to get my nephew into the kitchen and helping out.  My daughter, Kayla, is still a little young to help…so she just watched impatiently.  She knows that most of the time when I use the blender, it means she’s about to get a drink.  I fill up one of her sippy cups with the smoothie and let her enjoy.  I’ve made this smoothie a few times now and she always downs it in a matter of minutes.  I hope you all enjoy this smoothie as well.

Cucumber, banana, apple, pear, and strawberries.

My nephew Alex, proud of our creation. Kayla in the background, impatiently waiting for her smoothie.

We all have our cups full of the fresh smoothie.

Kayla is all done with her smoothie and now she's happy.

2 Comments

  1. This recipe is healthy tasty and refreshing – love cucumber inclusion what a twist 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Very Nutelly Saturday

    • Thanks! I love cucumbers and I think they get under-used, so I try to incorporate them into recipes when I can.

Leave a Reply

