kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Whipped Strawberry (no bake) cheesecake …with a Wee Bit of Green for St. Patty’s Day

As the weird heatwave continues in the Chicagoland area (80 degree weather in March), I continue to avoid using my oven.  I was in the mood for a Strawberry Cheesecake on March 17th, but wanted to do something I wouldn’t have to bake and that I could add a little green food coloring to for St. Patrick’s Day.  I already had all the ingredients I needed for a strawberry cheesecake, but I had to figure out how to incorporate some green into the recipe while still making sure people know it’s strawberry.  Obviously, you can make this recipe without adding any green to it, but it was festive for the holiday.  Here’s what I did…

Strawberry Whipped Cheesecake

– 2 (8 oz.) packages of Cream Cheese

– 1/2 cup of Sugar

– 1 cup Whipped Topping, I used Cool Whip

– 1 teaspoon of Vanilla

– 2/3  cup chopped Strawberries, and reserve a few whole strawberries for garnish

– 1 teaspoon Green Food Coloring

– 1 Graham Cracker Crust, I used a ready made one by Keebler to save time

Beat cream cheese and sugar together in a big mixing bowl.  Once it’s creamed, add in whipped topping and vanilla, stir.  I then reserved 1 cup of the cream cheese mixture from the bowl and set aside so I could tint it green.  You can skip this part if you don’t plan to add green to the cheesecake.  Again, I did this for St. Patty’s day, but it’s not necessary.  I added 1 teaspoon of food coloring to the reserved mixture and mixed well with a spoon until it was a nice green color.

In the mixing bowl, I added 2/3 cup of chopped strawberries to the cream cheese mixture.  If you are not reserving some of the mixture to add green to the top of the cheesecake, go ahead and use 1 cup of chopped strawberries, if desired.  Make sure to mix well so the strawberries are completely mixed in.  Reserve a few strawberries to garnish the cheesecake.

Pour the strawberry cream cheese mixture into the pie crust and spread evenly.  If you aren’t adding a green element, you can garnish your pie now.  If you are adding the green mixture, pour it on top of the strawberry cream cheese mixture in the pie crust.  Spread it out, but not completely to the edges.  You want to be able to see the pink strawberry cream cheese mixture around the edges so you can still tell it’s a strawberry cheesecake.  Garnish the cheesecake with fresh strawberries.  I didn’t have a lot of strawberries left over and they were all different sizes, so my cheesecake probably didn’t look as pretty as it could have if I had more strawberries.  This wasn’t a problem for me because the cheesecake was only for my household and they don’t really care about how pretty it looks…just about how good it tastes.  But you can easily decorate the top of this cheesecake to look great.

Once decorated, put cheesecake in the fridge for 3-4 hours to let it set before serving.  This cheesecake has a creamy, whipped texture to it.  It’s perfect for a warm spring day.

 

1 Comment

  1. oh yum! I love cheescake and that looks good!

Leave a Reply

