kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Triple Chocolate Pudding Pie

 

I’ve been craving pie for the past few weeks, but was having a hard time deciding on one to make.  If we weren’t having a freak heatwave in the Chicagoland area right now, I probably would have just made a cheesecake, but who wants to use an oven when it’s 80 degrees outside (and you don’t have the air on)?  Not me.  I guess I could have made a no bake cheesecake, but instead I decided I wanted something chocolate.  I picked a recipe I haven’t used in a long time, my Triple Chocolate Pudding Pie.  It’s rich and chocolatey, but still feels light…if you have a small piece.  It’s so satisfying if you love chocolate the way I do.

Triple Chocolate Pudding Pie Recipe

– 1 (6 oz.) Chocolate Pie Crust, I use Keebler’s ready made chocolate pie crust

– 2 cups 2 % Milk, cold

– 2 packages (4 oz. each) Chocolate Instant Pudding and Pie Mix

– 1 tub (8 oz.) Cool Whip (or generic whipped topping), thawed and divided

 In a large bowl, beat milk and pudding mixes with a whisk for 2 minutes.   The pudding should be nice and thick, and should have a dark chocolate color to it.  Spread 1 1/2 cups of the pudding evenly into the crust.  Set crust aside.  Next, stir half of the whipped topping into the remaining pudding in the bowl.  Mix well.  Spread pudding/whipped topping mixture over the pudding layer in the pie crust.  Use the remaining whipped topping to cover the pie.

Pudding layer being whisked.

Chocolate pie crust

Pudding layer being spread into the pie crust.

Pudding and whipped topping mixture.

Pudding and whipped topping mixture spread on top of pudding layer in pie crust.

Pie ready to go into the fridge to set.

Refrigerate pie for at least 3 hours or until firm.  If you want, you can garnish the pie with some fresh fruit or shaved chocolate.  My garnish of choice is strawberries.  Today, I could barely wait for the pie to set, so I didn’t use any garnishes.  I was eager to sink my teeth into this, so to speak.  This pie is decadent and delicious.  What makes it even better is it’s quick and easy to make.  You can even change it up by using an Oreo pie crust or using crushed Oreo cookies on top as a garnish.  If I were to take this to a party or family get-together, I would definitely change it up a little to make it more fancy.  For today, I kept it simple, and it’s still delicious.  🙂

Triple Chocolate Pudding Pie after it sets for 3 hours.

2 Comments

  1. You could have baked cheesecake in my oven…. I had it on for almost 4 hours today… It felt like hell in the kitchen! That pie looks delicious!!

    • I made the mistake of using my oven on Tuesday and promptly learned my lesson. This is a week for using my slow cooker and making things that don’t require an oven. LOL. The pie is tasty and super quick to make too.

Leave a Reply

