kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Fresh Rice Milk

You can use white rice or brown rice to make your own homemade rice milk.

Since I’m on this kick right now with making fresh drinks and food with my Vitamix blender, I decided to try my hand at fresh rice milk.  I love rice milk, but rarely drink it anymore.  I usually opt for buying vanilla soy milk over rice milk at the store, and I don’t get out to many Mexican restaurants anymore to have a glass of horchata.

The recipe book that came with my Vitamix blender has a very simple recipe for rice milk.  I changed it a little so that it would be more to my liking.

Rice Milk Recipe (Horchata)

– 1/2 cup of brown rice, cooked

– 2 cups water

– 2 tablespoon brown sugar

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– dash of cinnamon

– 1 teaspoon honey

I put the ingredients in my Vitamix blender in the order they are listed.  I started my blender on variable 1 and quickly increased it to variable 10, then to high.  I let it blend for two minutes.  After blending, I had super smooth and creamy rice milk.  Regardless of what type of blender you have, you want to blend the mixture until it is as smooth as your blender will get it.  It should take 2-3 minutes.

Homemade rice milk

If you have a Vitamix blender or a similar type of blender, you won’t have to worry about straining this after you make it.  It will come out smooth.  However, if you have a less powerful blender you may need to strain any rice bits by using a cheesecloth.  All you would do is line a strainer with cheesecloth and put the strainer over a bowl.  The liquid that drips through the cheesecloth into the bowl will be your finished rice milk.  The rice bits in the cheesecloth can just be thrown out.

This recipe wasn’t too sweet.  It had a nice flavor to it, with a hint of sweetness.  You can always add more sweetener to it or less, to taste.  The brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, and honey are all optional.  I wanted to try to keep it somewhat healthy for me and my daughter, so I went light on the brown sugar.

I thought the consistency was perfect.  It was a little creamy, but still kind of watery.  If you want it even less creamy, you can always add a little more water.  Since I know my blender makes drinks super smooth, I opted to only do 2 cups of water.

You can also make rice milk using white rice, but it’s not as healthy as using the brown rice.  It really depends on your personal preference and what you have on hand.

This recipe doesn’t make a lot, so if you want to make more at a time, you can double the recipe and store the rest.  The rice milk can last in the fridge for one week.  I would not recommend freezing this.  It just won’t taste the same.

I hope you like the recipe.  I wasn’t sure what Kayla was going to think of it when I put it in her sippy cup today, but she seemed to like it.  I always know when she doesn’t like something, because she either won’t drink it and leaves her cup around the house, or she gives her cup back to me like I made some type of mistake.  I was happy that she drank all the rice milk with no issues.

1 Comment

  1. esqstyleblog

    Lol at Kayla giving you back the cup!

Leave a Reply

