kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Sending my husband to the store…I never know what he’ll bring back

 

My husband Kevin and my daughter Kayla

I’m not sure if everyone has this problem, but when I send my husband to the store, I seriously never know what he is going to bring back.  It has gotten to the point where sometimes I write out big long lists with explanations just to try to ensure that he’ll be able to figure out what I want.  I can only shake my head at him when he tells me that he doesn’t understand why grocery stores aren’t set up more efficient.  He believes all the boxed food should be together, all the canned food should be together, all the food in jars together, etc.  No exceptions.  He doesn’t understand how the stores are set up with Italian food together, Ethic food together, baking products together, and so on.  He doesn’t think this makes sense since he doesn’t cook.

Let me give you a few examples of things he has brought back for me, just so you have an idea of what I’m dealing with here.  While I was pregnant, I had very specific cravings.  I also had extreme morning (noon and night) sickness for the first 5 months, so a lot of food would immediately make me sick when I looked at it, smelled it, or tasted it.  When I would send him to the store with the hopes of getting XYZ, it was more than a little disappointing when he would come back with something completely different.  I once sent him to the store to get me prepared, pre-packaged spinach dip from the produce/deli area to eat with crackers.  When he came home, he brought me a spinach dip seasoning packet and told me he thinks I should be able to make it with frozen spinach.  (He was assuming I had frozen spinach in the freezer, which I didn’t.)  So not only did he not bring me the prepared spinach dip I asked for, but he also did not bring me all the ingredients I needed to make the spinach dip from the packet.  No dip for me.

Another time, I asked for plain potato chips, and he brought me Fritos corn chips.  I’ve asked for shredded parmesan cheese, and he brought me the Kraft grated parmesan cheese in the green container.  I’ve asked for potatoes, and he’ll bring me frozen hash browns.  I sent him out once for pasta sauce and he came back with tomato paste.  I once wanted the Barbeque Baked Lays Potato Chips, and he brought back Jays Barbeque Potato Chips.  For the record, they taste nothing alike.  I’ve asked for Apple Cider, and he comes back with regular Apple Juice.  I’ve asked for Ginger Ale, and he comes back with 7-Up.  I’ve asked for Chex Mix, and he comes home with Chex cereal.  I’ve asked for ice cream, and he buys me rainbow sherbert.  The list goes on and on.  It’s not that what he buys is bad, it’s just not what I wanted.

My mom couldn’t understand why I would write little explanations on my grocery lists for him.  She thought I was being condesending.  I tried to explain that if I am not extremely specific about what I want, he will bring me back something else entirely.  She didn’t believe me, until she saw it for herself.  I sent him to the store and asked for a few items.  Flavored potato chips, a block of cheddar cheese, strawberries, and Greek yogurt.  I provided no explanation to see what he would come back with.  He returned an hour later with cheese puffs and lime tortilla chips (for potato chips), a big block of Velvetta cheese (when I wanted regular cheddar cheese, not processed), a bag of frozen mixed berries (instead of fresh strawberries), and a big container of plain Greek yogurt (when I usually buy individual containers of different flavors).  He was very proud of himself.  I thanked him, he disappeared to his man cave, and I just looked at my mom.  She laughed and shook her head.  She couldn’t believe that after being married to me for over two years and dating me for 2 1/2 years, that he would really have no clue what I was asking for…even though he sees the stuff I normally buy.  I told her he doesn’t pay attention and he is lost in grocery stores.  The only way I can possibly get what I want is by showing him an example, or explaining in great detail.  My family and friends think his shopping adventures are quite entertaining.

At Kayla's 1st birthday party in November 2011

Don’t get me wrong, he is trying to do better and he will even call me from the store to ask me questions, but sometimes he still comes back with the oddest things.  I always thank him for going shopping for me, even when he brings back the wrong items.  I appreciate that he wants to help out by going to the store for me, but it can be so frustrating when you’re waiting for a few ingredients to make a certain dish, and your husband (or whoever) brings you back the wrong thing.

Over the last month, I will say there has been a vast improvement on his shopping abilities.  I still give him a lot of detail to help him out, but he seems to be coming into his own.  A few months ago I ordered groceries to be delivered by Peapod when he was home.  He asked me why I didn’t just send him to the store to get what I needed.  When I told him that I can’t rely on him bringing me the right things, he was a little offended.  I hurt his feelings.  From then on, he has worked extra hard at being more accurate.  He will ask the store employees for help, he will call or text me with questions, and he even walks around the store looking for exactly what is written on my list.  I am so proud of him, especially since he hates shopping.

Tonight, he went to Bizio’s Fresh Market for me.  It was his first time going there, so I was a little worried he wasn’t going to find anything.  To my delight, he came home with everything on my list except ginger.  He said he had no idea what an avocado was, so he asked one of the stock people.  He wasn’t sure what type of turkey to get from the deli, so he asked the deli person what they recommend.  He even picked out a nice bottle of wine.  I didn’t have the heart to tell him I didn’t need a whole bag of apples, I only needed a few.  I was just so happy he did such a good job with my list.  For that, I’ll make him some fresh apple sauce with the extra apples.  Hey, maybe that’s what he was hoping for when he bought so many.  🙂

Do you have any stories about your spouse going to the store and bringing you back the wrong items?  If so, please share. 

1 Comment

  1. Malou

    Oh, I do perfectly understand your story. I had the same issue with my husband in the beginning but educating him a bit with the things in the shop helped. We are from 2 different food cultures so what are pretty usual stuffs for me are too exotic for him so I introduced him to the things I love to pick from the shops. If he has doubts while at the shop, he gives me a call these days. 😉

Leave a Reply

