kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Vitamix vs. Blendtec – Which is really better?

Vitamix blender in blue

There seems to be a debate going on about which whole food blender is really the best.  In a previous blog post, I talked about how I recently bought a Vitamix blender and I love it so far.  It is doing everything I needed/wanted it to do.  However, when I was doing research on the Vitamix blender before I made my purchase, I did run into reviews and articles about the new Blendtec blender as well.  From what I can tell, both blenders are high quality, high performance whole food blenders that can easily blend things that most standard blenders would struggle to propery blend.  It really seems to be a matter of your personal preferences and what works best for you.

One of the best reviews I read was at:  http://gotgreensrevolution.com/Vitamix-versus-blendtec-review.html

I thought their review was very thorough and answered all of my questions.  It appears to be a very honest review.  There are other similar reviews online if you still feel you need more information.  In this post, I’m going to just go over some of the basics.  I can’t tell you which blender is better or which one would be the best blender for you (if you’re in the market for a new blender), but I can provide you with an overview of both products so you can make an informed decision.

The Vitamix blender gives you total control over your blending by having a a High/Low switch and a variable speed dial.  This allows you to decide just how much you want to chop and blend your food.  The recipe books provide guidance on how you should go about blending each recipe.  The recipes tell you what variable speeds to use, whether you should turn it to high, and about how long you should let it blend.  I find the recipes very helpful and they are allowing me to become more comfortable with my Vitamix blender so when I start making my own recipes, I will have an idea

of what I need to do to get the consistency I want.  The Vitamix blender also comes with a tamper to help assist with pushing the food down into the blade to make sure you get the desired consistency.  From my experience so far, you don’t have to use the tamper for most recipes, unless you are making items such as nut butters.  I used the tamper when I made peanut butter the other day.

Blendtec blender

The Blendtec blender has pre-programmed settings which allows you to push a button and walk away.  The blender will go through the selected program cycle and turn off on it’s own when it’s done.  From the reviews I’ve read, the pre-programmed settings are a great feature that makes life a little easier, but it doesn’t always blend to the desired consistency of the user.  Don’t let that deter you though.  It is my understanding that there are a few manual buttons on the machine that will allow you to continue to blend once the pre-programmed cycle is done, so that you can get your smoothie or whatever to your desired consistency.

From most of the reviews I read though, the Vitamix blender is better able to provide a super smooth smoothie or puree every time.  The Blendtec provides a smooth smoothie that would be fine by most people’s standards, but if you want a super smooth smoothie every single time…then the Vitamix can deliver.  For me, this was an extremely important bit of information since I have a one year old daughter who will be drinking the smoothies I make and eating the food I blend in my Vitamix Blender.  It was important to me that I don’t have to worry about her choking on any chunks of fruits or veggies, and I wanted to make sure she will easily be able to drink smoothies and other liquids from her sippy cup.  It’s no fun if you give your kid a smoothie in their sippy cup, but pulp and chunks prevent them from being able to drink it properly.  It gets very frustrating.

Since these are high powered blenders, both are pretty loud when they’re in use.  To me, this is to be expected.  Even a regular blender you buy at your local store is loud when blending, so it makes sense a high powered, high performance blender would be even louder.  From the reviews I read, the Blendtec blender is noticebly louder than the Vitamix blender.  When you see demonstrations, or you see the blenders at a local smoothie place, you may notice they have them in sound reducing boxes.  I have no idea if you can purchase one of these boxes, but who would want one of those ugly boxes in their kitchen anyway.  My opinion is most recipes only take a minute to blend, so just deal with the noise for the short time it takes to make your favorite recipes.  It’s worth it, trust me.

I’ve noticed during demonstrations of the Blendtec blender that it appears to shake while it’s blending.  I believe this is normal and may contribute to the noise level, but I’m not completely sure.  I haven’t noticed my Vitamix blender shaking the way the Blendtec blender does, but both blenders do not lock into the base like most standard household blenders.  You simply set them on the base and although they don’t seem to be completely steady, they don’t fall over while in use.  When I first got my Vitamix blender, I was a little concerned that it didn’t lock into place.  I have used my blender about 8 times now and have not encountered any issues with it not being locked in place.

Both blenders have a great deal of power and can blend whole foods easily.  It is my understanding that since Blendtec doesn’t have the tamper, it is sometimes necessary to chop up your fruits and veggies a little more to get them to blend easier and smoother.  I cannot say if that is true or not since I’ve never personally used a Blendtec blender, but that is what I’ve read.  I can say I haven’t had any issues blending anything in my Vitamix blender.  Blendtec is slightly more powerful than the Vitamix blender, but Vitamix has a greater range for speed control which can make it easier to perform tasks such as chopping veggies in your blender.  Neither blender is designed for great chopping, but the Vitamix blender provides better chopping results.

Current Blendtec and Vitamix containers are BPA-Free copolyester plastic.  Vitamix is made so it allows you to replace or exchange the blades when needed.  That is not currently possible with Blendtec blenders.  Both come standard with 64 oz. containers, however, Blendtec recommends only filling their containers up half way to operate.  Vitamix can operate with their containers filled to capacity.  I have filled my Vitamix to capacity and it works great.  Again, I don’t know first hand what happens if you fill up a Blendtec blender to capacity and try to operate.  My assumption is that since Blendtec doesn’t have a tamper, the ingredients may not get properly blended when filled to capacity because it won’t properly pull everything down into the blades.  That is just an assumption.  I have noticed that during the demonstrations of the Blendtec blenders, they usually only fill them half way or less, so it’s hard to say how it performs when completely filled.  Both blenders do an excellent job at wet and dry blending.  The standard Vitamix container (the wet blending container) is able to dry blend just as well as the Blendtec container.  If you want superior dry blending/grinding, then the Vitamix dry blending container is recommended.

Clean up is super simple and easy with both blenders.  You add some warm/hot water, dish soap, and blend.  Within a minute your container will be clean in most cases.  If you have some leftover residue, you can always wipe down the inside, then repeat the previous instructions.  When you use these blenders, you don’t get all the icky build up around the blades like you’d get in most blenders.  The Vitamix and Blendtec blenders are considered to be self cleaning.  When you run the blenders with the warm/hot water and dish soap, they steam clean themselves.  All you have to do afterwards is rinse out your container.  It really is that simple.  I’d recommend cleaning them both right after use, before food gets stuck to the inside of the container.   Cleaning the front of the units may be easier with the Blendtec since they have the touch pad on the front.  Vitamix has two switches and a speed dial on the front that may be hard to clean if you drip something on them.  I haven’t had this issue yet.

Both blenders have great warranties and are very durable.  They are trusted brands used by many restaurants.  They are made in the USA.  The Blendtec blender is shorter and can fit under most standard kitchen cabinets, but the Vitamix is taller and won’t always fit.  Mine didn’t fit under my cabinets, but it wasn’t an issue for me.  If it is an issue for you, you might want to go with the Blendtec blender or look into the smaller Vitamix model.  Blendtec also has a sleeker design, whereas the Vitamix looks more industrial.  Again, this wasn’t an issue for me, but some people may think the Vitamix blender is an eye sore.  I got the blue Vitamix blender and it only took a day or so for me to get used to it in my kitchen.  My favorite color is blue, so I absolutely love the color of my blender.

The bottom line is it really doesn’t matter which blender you think is better, because both are quality blenders that can take on all of your blending needs.  No, they are not juicers, so don’t get confused.  These are high quality, high performance whole food blenders that allow you to incorporate a healthier diet into your lifestyle.  When deciding which blender is right for you, you just have to decide what you’re looking for in a blender.  The Vitamix blender was the best choice for me.  I like to be able to be in control of my blending by using the manual speed controls.  I like having the option to use the tamper to make sure all the ingredients are being pushed/pulled down into the blades for super smooth blending.  I prefer to have the blender that is a little less noisy since I do have a young child and three dogs (who hate when I use a blender).  I liked that when I bought my Vitamix blender, it came with a 300 page recipe book, a blender drink book, and a DVD.  I adore my recipe book.  The Vitamix has the best warranty.  It’s the more energy efficient blender.  The overall reviews on the Vitamix blew me away.  And most importantly, when I read about both blenders and watched demonstations, the Vitamix blender was the one that felt like the right choice for me.  It was the blender that spoke to me.  For you, that might not be the Vitamix blender, who knows.  I just want to help regular people be able to make informed decisions.  I hope this helps everyone out there who is considering investing in a high quality blender.

Here are some other reviews that I found helpful:

http://www.perfectsmoothie.com/vitamix-vs-blendtec/

http://blenderreviewspro.com/blendtec-vs-vitamix/


Do you own one of these blenders?  If so, please feel free to share your thoughts and opinions about your blender.  Are you happy with it’s performance?  What types of things do you make in your blender?  Would you recommend it to others?  Why or why not?

1 Comment

  1. I’m all for VitaMix! I purchased one last year and I would NEVER EVER go back to Blendtec.

Leave a Reply

