kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Sailor Man Green Smoothie

Sailor Man Green Smoothie

I’ve been hearing a lot about green smoothies over the last few months.  It seems to be one of the new healthy living trends.  Green smoothies are easy to make and apparently taste yummy.  The concept is simple.  You take any fresh greens you like and blend them with fruit.   A green smoothie is a smoothie with about 60% fresh ripe fruit and 40% fresh raw leafy greens blended in a blender with water/ice.  Leafy greens are loaded with antioxidants, minerals, and vitamins.  I found out I was anemic when I had my daughter, so I am always looking for ways to incorporate more iron into my diet without having to take iron pills.  With the combination of calories and fiber, a green smoothie can actually be considered a meal.  It’s also a good way to get kids to consume fruits and veggies without them even knowing what exactly their drinking.  It sounds like a win-win to me.

I’ve done some research on green smoothies and talked to a few friends who drink them on a regular basis.  From everything I’ve read and heard so far, green smoothies are extremely healthy, but still remain tasty.  The fruit conceal the fact that there are raw leafy greens in the smoothie as well.  I am all for healthy food as long as it tastes good.

I looked at various green smoothie recipes trying to find one that stood out to me.  I finally picked the Sailor Man Green Smoothie.  I liked the ingredients and loved the name.  Plus, I had all the ingredients in my fridge already.  So I whipped up this smoothie to go with lunch for the past two days..

Sailor Man Green Smoothie

– 1/2 cup green grapes

– 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt

– half of a banana, peeled

– half of an apple, cored

– 1 cup fresh spinach

– 1/4 cup of pineapple

– 1 cup ice

I added all the ingredients into my Vitamix blender in the order above.  I started my machine on variable 1, quickly increased the speed to variable 10, then turned it on high.  I blended it for about a

Adding in all the ingredients into the blender.

minute until it was smooth.  This works in other blenders as well.  Just blend until the smoothie is the desired consistency.

This makes a nice amount. The first day I made it I was able to fill up Kayla’s sippy cup with it, and still have a very large cup for myself.  (The very large cup I used is not pictured.)  When I made it today, I filled up her sippy cup, had a cup for myself, then stored the rest in a travel mug in the fridge so my husband could try it later.

It comes out a very pretty green.  I think my mom was a little surprised by just how green it was when I showed her the end result.  It tasted great.  It was a pleasant surprise.  Kayla drank it with no problems, although it seemed to be a little cold for her at first.  I made my mom try it and she seemed surprised that it actually tasted good.  This is definitely a smoothie I will make again.  I eat spinach all the time, and I didn’t think it really tasted like spinach.  It tastes like a fruit smoothie with a little something extra.  When my husband tried it, he had no idea what was in it, but said it would probably be a good drink for a mid-day pick me up.  It looks healthy, but tastes good.  He was surprised when I told him what was in it.

I’m not sure which green smoothie I plan to try next, but I will keep you updated on my journey into the world of green.

After it's blended.

I love the beautiful green color of the smoothie. I think this picture shows just how smooth the smoothie comes out and the true color.

3 Comments

  1. Hello fellow Vitamix owner! This is a great recipe. Try adding kale… Yum! 😀

    Elena
    ThePoshLatinCook.com

    • Thanks! Maybe I’ll try it with Kale tomorrow. I have some in the fridge.

Trackbacks

  1. Baking Cookies For Your Bun In The Oven | We The Eaters

Leave a Reply

