kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Red Velvet Cake Balls – A perfect Valentine’s Day treat

For Valentine’s Day, I wanted to make something special for my loved ones.  I am a big fan of red velvet anything and my daughter absolutely loves cake, so I came up with the idea of making red velvet cake balls.  They kind of look like truffles when they’re done.  They are nice and moist on the inside, and the outside is covered in bittersweet chocolate.  These are delicious before you even coat them in the chocolate, but the chocolate elevates them to the next level.  Everyone who has tried one so far has loved them.

Red Velvet Cake Balls

– one package of red velvet cake mix, prepare cake per package instructions

– one container of cream cheese frosting, room temperature

– a bag of semi sweet chocolate chips

– red dusting sugar for decoration

This recipe is so simple and easy to make.  It would be great to make with kids if you want to get them involved in the kitchen.  It gets messy, but it’s worth it.  Basically, you want to start out by baking a regular box mix red velvet cake per the package instructions.  Let it sit and cool for at least an hour.  I let mine set for about 2 1/2 hours.  Crumble up the cake in a bowl or dish, then mix in the entire container of cream cheese frosting.  Make sure it’s mixed well.  Roll the mixture into small balls and place on a baking sheet with wax paper.  It’s up to you how big you want them.  I did them in various sizes since this was my first time making them and I wasn’t sure which size I would prefer.  The smaller ones look cuter once they are all finished, but I think I prefered the larger ones.  The larger ones seem like the perfect small dessert size.  Once you have all the balls rolled, place the baking sheet into the fridge or freezer for at least 15 minutes so they will harden up a bit.  I actually put mine into the freezer overnight, but it’s not necessary to let them sit for that long.  I just broke this up into a two part process to make it easier on myself.  Just make sure that the balls are solid and won’t fall apart once you dip them into the hot chocolate.

Inside of cake ball

I melted the chocolate in a mini crockpot, but this can easily be done on the stove top or in the microwave.  Whatever is easier for you.  I did it in the crockpot so I didn’t have to worry about the chocolate cooling and hardening up on me while I was working.  The easiest way I’ve found to dip the balls is to put them on skewers and dip them into the hot chocolate.  I only worry about covering the top and sides, not the bottom.  I leave them on the skewers and place the skewer in a tall cup, then sprinkle the tops of the cake balls with the dusting sugar.  Then I put them in the fridge so the chocolate will set.  At this point, you have red velvet cake pops. They look very nice like this.   You can leave them on the skewers if you prefer to have cake pops.  For today, I wanted to stick with the cake balls, so I simply pulled the skewers out once the chocolate set and put all the cake balls in an air tight container.  To store, I put them in the freezer, but the fridge would be fine too.

If you don’t want to use skewers, or don’t have any, you can use two spoons or two forks to roll the cake balls in the chocolate, then put them on wax paper to set.  The only problem with doing it this way is you tend to get a little chocolate puddle around the cake balls when you put them on the wax paper, and it will set that way.  You can use a toothpick to score around them so they look prettier and don’t have the attached chocolate puddle.

No matter how you go about making these, they will be a big hit with your family and friends.  They are the perfect Valentine’s Day treat.

What’s your favorite Valentine’s Day treat?   Did you make anything special for your loved ones?

3 Comments

  1. esqstyleblog

    They look delicious! Can you taste the cream cheese? When I look at the photo, I can’t tell.

    • Surprisingly, yes, you can taste the cream cheese. Especially in the ones that I didn’t cover with chocolate. Those taste just like a regular red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting. But you can still taste it a little in the ones that are covered in chocolate. Kevin says the chocolate covered ones are the best. That’s been his night time snack.

  2. Malou

    Indeed these are perfect Valentine’s Day treats!

Leave a Reply

