kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Super Bowl Sunday

I’m not a big football fan, so for me the super bowl is all about good food, watching commercials, and checking out the half time performance.  While my husband watched football and the little one played with her toys, I was in the kitchen cooking.  I started off the game with chicken taco puffs.

Inside of a chicken taco puff

Chicken Taco Puffs

– one tube of buttery crescent rolls

– ground chicken

– diced onions

– diced bell peppers

– taco seasoning for chicken

– Mexican shredded cheese blend

I wanted to cut some corners today, so I actually bought some chicken taco meat at Bizio’s Fresh Market, but it’s easy to prepare it by yourself.  Put some diced up onions and bell peppers in a pot with a little bit of olive oil or butter.  Let them cook until they start to get tender.  Add in the ground chicken and cook until no longer pink.  Add 3/4 cup of water to the pot and stir in taco seasoning.  Let it simmer on low heat for a few minutes.  Remove chicken mixture from heat.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Unroll crescent rolls.  For each triangle, put a little bit of shredded cheese on it and then a spoonful of the chicken mixture.  Wrap up the crescent roll into a little pouch, completely covering the mixture.  Put all the crescent pouches onto a baking sheet.  Bake them for 10-12 minutes, until they are lightly golden.  These were a great snack to start off the game.

Next up, I made a pizza.  My husband loves eating pizza while watching a game.  Instead of ordering a pizza, I figured I could make one myself.  Since today was about cutting some corners, I did use a pre-packaged flatbread pizza dough instead of fresh pizza dough.  Either works though, it’s really what you prefer to use.

Chicken taco puff and pizza

Pepperoni and Tomato Pizza

– pizza dough, fresh or pre-packaged

– fresh mozzarella cheese cut into small chunks

– shredded mozzarella cheese

– tomoto slices, cut thin

– pepperoni

– dried oregano

– vodka pasta sauce (any pasta sauce will do)

For the pre-packaged dough I had, I needed to preheat my oven to 425 degrees.  I put the dough on a pizza baking sheet.  Then I spread a thin layer of the vodka pasta sauce on top of the dough.  I then added the rest of the ingredients…the dried oregano, fresh mozzarella chunks, tomato slices, turkey pepperoni, and shredded mozzarella cheese.  I put it in the oven and baked it for about 10-12 minutes, until the cheese was completely melted.  This pizza was quick and easy, but still a yummy game day snack.

Since the previous stuff was only our game day snacks, I still made an actual dinner.  LOL.  So for dinner, I made my Mexican casserole.  I make this a few times a year and my husband loves it.  I made this recipe up one day when I was riding on the train to work a few years ago.  I wanted to do a Mexican casserole, but I wanted to do it in a slow cooker/crockpot.  I also wanted it to be simple ingredients, but have lots of flavor.

Mexican Slow Cooker Casserole

Ground beef on the stove

Browned ground beef on the stove

– 1 lb ground beef

– mild taco seasoning (I like McCormick’s taco seasoning)

– minute rice, white

– small can of chopped black olives

– small can of green chilis

– jar of mild or medium salsa

– shredded Mexican cheese blend

– half a jar of nacho cheese, optional

– half a can of refried pinto beans

– corn tortillas

– sour cream, for topping only

Rice mixture

Brown the ground beef on the stove, drain fat, then stir in taco seasoning with 3/4 cup of water.  Bring to a boil and let simmer for a few minutes.  While the ground beef is cooking, cook a cup of minute rice on the stove.  Follow the easy package instructions.  Once rice is done, mix in the rest of the ingredients,  except the corn tortillas and sour cream… add the black olives, green chilis, salsa (reserve half the jar for later), shredded cheese (reserve some for topping), nacho cheese, and refried pinto beans.  Let mixture cook on low heat for a few minutes to melt the cheese.  Stir it to help the cheese melt and to mix all the ingredients.

Spray the inside of a crock pot with cooking spray.  Spread a little bit of the reserved salsa at the bottom of the crock pot.  Now we’re going to start to layer everything into the crock pot.  Lay down two corn tortillas side by side (in an oval crock pot, you can adjust if you have a round one).  It is ok if the tortillas overlap a little bit.  Pour some of the ground beef mixture with the juice on top of the tortillas, then spread rice mixture on top of that.  Repeat two more times.  Tortillas, ground beef, then rice mixture.  To top it off, put in two more corn tortillas and spread the remaining salsa on the tortillas.  Sprinkle the reserved shredded cheese on top.  I like to cook this for about 4-5 hours on high.  You can cook it on low heat for 6 hours, but I prefer when it’s cooked on high heat.  It seems to come out better.  In fact, I originally used to cook it on high heat for 5 hours, and then on low heat for an additional hour or two…and the corn tortillas would almost melt into it.  The tortillas add wonderful flavor to the dish.

When I serve it, I like to show all the beautiful melted layers.  I top it off with a few spoon fulls of sour cream.  I think the sour cream adds that last necessary touch to it, but if you don’t like sour cream, just leave it off.  My husband sometimes eats this dish with tortilla chips.  He says when it’s nice and hot, it’s like a warm dip.  No matter how you choose to eat it or serve it, this is a filling meal and great for game day.

Mexican slow cooker casserole

1 Comment

  1. esqstyleblog

    I’d like to try the casserole!

Leave a Reply

