kayla kakes

This food blog is a way to share recipes, opinions, and stories about cooking/baking.

Ground Turkey Nachos for Cinco de Mayo

Normally, I like to make enchiladas, chimichangas, or flautas for Cinco de Mayo.  I like to make fresh tortilla chips and salsa.  Or I may even go pick up food from a nice Mexican restaurant.  But this year, I decided to keep it simple.  I wanted to make nachos, but I didn’t feel like making fresh tortillas (even though it’s not hard to do) and I didn’t want to spend a lot of time making this dish.  I want to make something fast…but I wanted to make sure it would still taste good.  You can easily make these nachos with ground beef, if you prefer, but I tend to make nachos with ground turkey.  It’s something I started to do years ago when I was trying to cut back on calories and fat.  I refused to give up on the cheesy factor of my nachos, so instead I decided to switch from ground beef to ground turkey.  That’s how I compromise with myself.  I figured it was a nice trade off.

 

Ground Turkey Nachos Recipe

- 1 lb Ground Turkey

- 1 jar of mild or medium Nacho Cheese Dip (My favorite is Tostitos Jalapeno Cheddar Cheese Dip, but the containers are small.)

- 1 jar of mild or medium chunky Salsa

- 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

- 1 teaspoon Salt

- 1 teaspoon Pepper

- 1/2 teaspoon Garlic Salt

- 1/2 teaspoon Chili Powder

- 1/2 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper

- 1 bag of Tortilla Chips

- Sour Cream, for garnish (optional)

In a large skillet over medium heat, cook ground turkey until it is no longer pink.  Drain fat.  Season ground turkey with salt, pepper, garlic salt, chili powder, and cayenne pepper.  Pour nacho cheese dip and salsa into the skillet.  Stir to combine and let simmer for 5 minutes.  Stir in shredded cheddar cheese and cook until cheese is completely melted.

Pour ground turkey mixture over tortilla chips and garnish with some sour cream.  I also like to add some jalapeno peppers on top as a garnish.  If you’re ambitious, feel free to make this recipe with fresh salsa and fresh tortilla chips.  It tastes even better with fresh ingredients, but if you’re short on time like me, this is a great fast recipe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

